Skip to content

Enhanced Drilling’s EC-Monitor™ wins technology award

Enhanced Drilling's EC-Monitor™ enhanced kick detection system, was last week awarded the ‘Best Well Integrity Technology Award’ at the World Oil Awards 2022.

EC-Monitor™, the enhanced kick detection technology, wins prestigious award at the World Oil Awards 2022.

Leading innovators

For over 20 years, the World Oil Awards have recognized and showcased technology that have made a lasting impact from the upstream energy industry’s leading innovators. The ceremony was held in Houston, Texas, on October the 13th, and winners were recognized by the World Oil advisory board. The proprietary EC-Monitor™ technology has been developed based on operational learnings on improved volume monitoring gained from more than 10 years of EC-Drill® operation around the globe. EC-Monitor™ has been developed together with our technology partner Transocean and offers a step change in volume control in all phases of well construction, including tripping, compared to existing methods.

‘Significant impact’

EC-Monitor™ can be retro-fitted on any rig and in principle acts an in-line trip located above the slip-joint that provides continuous flow-checking with minimal driller interaction needed. This translates into both economic and safety benefits for the customer, as flow anomalies can be detected earlier, and with smaller volumes, than with previous methods.

“Being selected as a finalist at the World Oil Awards is a huge achievement. Being named the winner amongst such high-quality entries is an even greater honor. EC-Monitor™ represents a step change in accurate volume control that will have a significant impact on the safety and efficiency of drilling operations in the years to come. I am truly proud of the team that have made the journey from idea to product a reality. This win is a testament to the capabilities we have within our organization” said, Kjetil Lunde, CEO at Enhanced Drilling.

A complete list of winners and categories can be found at the World Oil Awards 2022 Winners list.